UK TOOLS, DIY & HOMECheck the model. Check the fit.
THE WORKBENCH / BUYING GUIDE

Wall plug drill bit sizes: red UNO and Fischer DuoPower

Rawlplug UNO red Ø6 mm, product R-C1-UNORED, has a documented 6 mm hole diameter. Fischer DuoPower 6 × 30, 8 × 40 and 10 × 50 specify 6 mm, 8 mm and 10 mm drill diameters respectively for the exact articles below. Identify the brand, product and size before using any of these figures.

Manufacturer references · checked 2026-10-03

What drill size does a red wall plug need?

For the specific Rawlplug UNO red product R-C1-UNORED, the answer is 6 mm. Rawlplug identifies this jar as UNO red 6 mm; its linked UNO product card gives a 6 mm hole diameter for the Ø6 size. That is a documented product match. It is not a rule for every plug that happens to be red.

If you only have a loose plug or a colour description, find its brand and product reference on the packaging before choosing from this table. A photograph, a familiar colour or a retailer’s generic ‘wall plug’ title does not identify the exact article. Keep the product name alongside the dimensions when searching.

Documented drill and screw diameters

Each row refers to the stated manufacturer article. The Fischer screw ranges are specifically for wood and chipboard screws. Rawlplug’s linked UNO card documents the hole diameter but does not state a general screw-diameter range, so that cell is left explicitly unconfirmed. The source links let you check the underlying product information.

Documented drill and screw diameters
Exact productArticle / product codeRequired drill diameterDocumented screw diameterManufacturer source
Rawlplug UNO red Ø6 mmR-C1-UNORED6 mmNot stated in linked UNO product cardManufacturer reference ↗
Fischer DuoPower 6 × 305354536 mm4.0–5.0 mm; wood and chipboard screwsManufacturer reference ↗
Fischer DuoPower 8 × 405354558 mm4.5–6.0 mm; wood and chipboard screwsManufacturer reference ↗
Fischer DuoPower 10 × 5053545610 mm6.0–8.0 mm; wood and chipboard screwsManufacturer reference ↗

Read plug, drill and screw dimensions separately

Fischer’s DuoPower 8 × 40 article 535455 illustrates the difference: its drill diameter is 8 mm, its anchor length is 40 mm and its documented wood/chipboard screw diameter is 4.5–6.0 mm. The 40 mm figure identifies anchor length; the screw range is a separate specification. Choosing a drill from the screw diameter would confuse two different fields.

Use the manufacturer’s labelled drill or hole-diameter value rather than calculating one from a screw, estimating the plug by eye or treating every number in a listing as interchangeable. This reference covers those dimensions; it does not select a fixing for a wall material or provide installation or load-capacity instructions.

Carry the exact reference into your shopping search

Search using the brand, product family, plug size and article code together. For example, ‘Fischer DuoPower 8 × 40 535455’ carries more identifying information than ‘8 mm wall plugs’. Compare the selected retailer variant with the manufacturer reference before ordering.

Check whether the offer contains plugs alone, plugs with screws or an assortment, and read its pack quantity. A different bundle can have its own article number. An Amazon search may include alternative sizes or similar products; a search result is not confirmation that the selected item matches this table.

TAKE THIS TO THE LISTING

Before you buy

  • Identify the exact brand, product family, size and article code.
  • Read the manufacturer’s drill or hole-diameter field for that product.
  • Keep screw diameter, screw type and plug length separate.
  • Check the selected retailer variant, included components and pack quantity.

Manufacturer sources

Compare the pack and the product.

Carry the exact manufacturer reference into the retailer listing.

Wall plug buying checklist ↗